What’s growing?

The reality of living close to the city is that there ain’t a lot of backyard space. In fact, it’s probably a bit generous to call our courtyard a ‘backyard’! It means I have to really want to try growing something in order to grant it space in one of my raised beds. Here’s a bit of a tour of what’s happening at the moment:

It’s strawberry time again! This time I’ve properly protected my crop with a contraption of stakes and birdnetting so I can actually enjoy some fruits (hopefully):

DSC_0682

I’m using every cm of dirt I can find. Here’s a new nook I’ve cleared around the edge of our courtyard which is probably overcrowded with seedlings for sunflowers, green beans, cucumber and marigolds. Oh and a few lettuce leaves. I did try to improve the soil quality with some compost and have been quite vigilant on the seaweed solution, so fingers crossed and let’s see how they go…

DSC_0675

Corn! And some more sunflowers in the background

DSC_0691

And beets! I think these are almost ready for harvest. I’ve lost count of the weeks but I’ve goat some goats cheese in the fridge and I’m thinking a beetroot salad is calling my name…;)

DSC_0693

Onion seeds I planted at the same time as the beetroot but it seems like they might need a bit more time to get nice and plump

DSC_0695

And just because it made me smile seeing this little guy pop up in the patch here’s a pic for you!

DSC_0683

Leave a Reply

